If the Boston sports championships in the next year over/under was 1.5…

Posted: December 14, 2010 in sports
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’d take the over.  Because the forecast here in Boston is championships with a 51% chance of more championships.  Lets be real here, the Patriots are the best team in the NFL, the Celtics are the best team in the NBA, and if it wasn’t for this guy: http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=7099837 the Red Sox would be the best team in the MLB.  Give credit to the Bruins too.  Although Pittsburgh is so hot right now that all Penguins are in danger of going extinct by 2012, the Bruins (especially Tim Thomas) are playing great puck and are a contender for sure.

The Pats are just about a lock for the Super Bowl, and I think they have at least a 450% chance to bring a Lombardi Trophy back to Boston.  The only team in the NFL that scares me as a New England fan right now is the New Orleans Saints.  And not even the Saints.  Just Drew Brees.  But the Patriots young defense keeps improving, so I don’t know if I’ll even still be afraid of Mr. Brees come playoff time.  So if the Pats are a deadlock to win the Super Bowl, only one other Boston team would need to win for the over.

It looks like this years NBA finals matchup will once again be Celtics-Lakers, because the Heat turn cold when they face good teams that can play defense.  And because Rajon Rondo is more bananas than a monkey’s lifetime diet.  The dude has more dimes than the Victoria’s Secret fashion show.  When the Celtics inevitably play the Lakers in the Finals, this time around, lets all hope the absurdly unfair NBA refs don’t call the Celtics for 17 fouls in the 4th quarter of game 7.  But we all know that NBA refs are always favoring international superstar Kobe, so I’ll give the Celtics just a 49% chance of winning the Finals.  And for the sake of more writing.  So by my illogical logic, Boston is at 1.49 championships right now.

After Theo Epstein bolstered the Sox lineup with slugger Adrian Gonzalez and Carl Craw-FordGT, I expect the Red Sox runs per game to hover around 24.5 for the season.  I have no doubts about the Sox being the best team in the AL, but the Phillies scare me–their World Series MVP from 2008 is now their third starter.  The Phillies are the WS favorites, but as much as they scare me, I think the Red Sox are a close second.  The only troubling aspect of the Red Sox is the bullpen because closer Jonathan Papelbon can no longer close a game anymore.  His intimidating glare that used to strike fear into opposing hitters now just makes him look like he’s sucking a tiny D.

If it’s a Sox-Phils World Series, I think the Sox will be underdogs with a 41% chance of winning.  So, by my terrible logic, Beantown is now up to 1.9 championships.

I am no hockey expert, but I know two things:

1. Sidney Crosby is the only thing Canada can do better than the USA, and the Penguins are going to win the Stanley Cup.  99% of my reasoning for this is because they are by far my favorite team to use in NHL 11 the video game.  Feel free to challenge me by the way.  I’ll take you down.  I play on XBox.

2. For the sake of my argument, I’ll give the Bruins a 10% chance of winning a title, upping the best city in the world to 2.0 titles.  So, all in all, it looks like Boston will be racking up two total championships this year.  I have no idea how my logic works, but two championships sounds pretty realistic, right?

Wait no, make it three, because either BU or BC is going to win the NCAA men’s hockey title.  GO TERRIERS!!!!!!!!!!!

Let me know what you guys think, please leave some comments and voice your own opinion.

Comments
  1. Daddy says:

    It is ridiculous to say that Sidney Crosby is the only thing that canada does better than the USA.
    The USA is inferior to Canada is every way.
    Maybe I would believe this if the US hockey team won the gold medal at the Olympics last year, but they didn’t. Since you seem to be the expert, perhaps you could tell me who did.

  2. Casey says:

    Have you forgotten about perhaps the best team in the NFL, the Falcons… tisk tisk tisk, dont let your BC hate cloud your judgment, Matty Ice and the Falcons. The Falcons have been playing some good ball of late and Ryan has less then half the interceptions Breese, oh and head to head the Falcons prevailed. I dont know how a team that wont even win the NFC is gunna give the pats a hard time.

  3. andyju4392 says:

    The Falcons are definitely a big threat, but i think the pats top weakness is obviously the secondary. at the end of the day, i would take the saints’ air game over the falcons’ because brees spreads the ball better and has champion experience. Yeah the falcons beat the saints earlier this year, but like the pats, the saints got off to a slow start and now theyre rolling. and i think as phenomenal as matty ice’s development has been, he targets roddy white and tgonz rather than evenly distributing the ball. We’ll see who takes the NFC south in 2 weeks, the two teams play eachother

  4. andyju4392 says:

    and yeah i was just talking to hadi yesterday. over break, we gotta go back to the good ol days of nhl in my basement

Leave a Reply

